Writing 101: Your Voice Will Find You

It was nothing more than a landfill of iron rusted debris and mounds of deconstructed rubble. I still couldn’t believe that this place was once Hardee’s Amusement Park. The unsightly view saddened me, this was a place that had been a dear part of my life growing up. Every summer when my dad took time off from the 40 hour work week we took the  two hour drive for our weekend trip. There were rumors that the 75 year old amusement park was being sought after by a corporate conglomerate but not to preserve it but to build a larger one. Now the abandoned park is just a wasteland of memories. No more candied apples, buttered popcorn, and my favorite, cotton candy. The bumper cars, roller coasters, and prized games now all gone. Hardee’s will always have a special place in my heart and remind me of the good times of my childhood.

3 comments

  1. Priceless Joy · October 4, 2014

    Very good! Sad to see that place all rusted and “dead.” It is very sad when places of our childhood joyful memories are left so unloved by others.

  2. lovessiamese · October 4, 2014

    Even the picture looks sad. It’s always a real bummer when our special places are destroyed by neglect or corporate progress. I’m in favor of progress, just not on or in my special places. Guess we all feel that way about something. Carousels and other amusement rides are especially hard to see die because they provide so much joy.

Leave a Reply

