Writing 101: Unlock the Mind


Close to perfect. It isn’t every day you find beauty on the
inside and out of a person. Too kind for mankind. How was someone always this
nice and considerate of everyone else? I had to ask.

“You are always smiling and
you always have a way of making people feel special. Why is that?”

“I’m not always smiling.” Answering with a smile on her
face.

She lowered her head and shrugged, “I don’t know, I just try
and treat everyone the way I want to be treated.”

“Good answer.” I nodded. “Well, you have a good day.”

I wasn’t looking for some long philosophical answer but I
thought there was more to it. Her answer was simple but perfect. Treat everyone
the way I want to be treated. I’m sure people weren’t as nice to her as she was
to them but she could only control her own actions.

I challenged myself this week to let things slide and not
react like I normally would.

So today when I was crossing the street and the taxi driver
almost ran into me, knowing it was my right of way, I flipped him off instead of hitting
the cab and cursing him out like I usually would.

I took a deep breath while I did it, and muttered “Baby
steps.”

Yep, I’m on the right track.

8 comments

  1. faizamoghal · September 18, 2014

    good! more people should try that! I’ll follow your lead 🙂

  2. Laura Feasey · September 18, 2014

    Haha, you’ve got a great sense of humour in your writing, and I love the look of your blog!

  3. Lorna's Voice · September 18, 2014

    Nicely done! 🙂

  4. laurenudoh · September 18, 2014

    Thank you Lorna!

  5. orangeblorenge · September 18, 2014

    Thank you Lorna!

  6. rebirthoflisa · September 20, 2014

    Baby steps!!! I love it.

Leave a Reply

